Friends

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

So noone told you life, was gonna be this way… sorry, I didn’t mean to startle you with the opening lines the theme song to a rubbish (yeah, I’m totally going there) sitcom. Well, it could have been good, if it wasn’t a gazillion episodes long, all with roughly the same plot.

But I’m not here to talk about axed comedies, that would be rubbish, and completely irrelevant, I’m here to talk about music.

You see, after the previous post, I’ve had itchy fingers to blog again, but I planned on uploading my song for my 52/52 challenge on the Saturday of each week (though I expect there may be some situations when it may not get done until Sunday if I’m busy), so I couldn’t just do my song now, because it would mean I couldn’t do anything for a week and a half now, so I’m blogging now to let you know what else I’ve been recording in between.

On the Ukulele Cosmos, each month we have a thing called “The Open Invitational”, where people suggest songs for everyone to upload their own take on it, one person is chosen (by the previous chooser) to choose a song (are you following), then everyone plays the song chosen by the chooser, and then near the end of the month the chooser chooses the next chooser to chose a song.

Simples.

I was chooser in 2009, and have since be asked to be the chooser three times. But the unwritten rules of the cosmos say you can only be the chooser once. Ho hum.

Back on topic, this months song was Randy Newman’s “You’ve Got A Friend In Me”

Look at him go on that piano. I wonder if he still does “Short People”? I love that song.

Anyhoo, here’s my version http://www.box.net/shared/1zcz55y1pt

I guess you could also consider it a little tribute to my friends.

I’m off now, because I’ve been trying to write this blog post for three days, I first started it, and then was told the original recording sounded crap, so then the following day I did a new recording, and tried to finish this blog post, and every time I got up to “Short People” my PC crashed. I’m currently borrowing my dad’s laptop to finish this blog. He doesn’t actually like me using this, so I really need to shoot off.

See you on Saturday.

Kris

Comments
  1. […] may remember last month, after the first song, I wrote a blog post about the Ukulele Cosmos Open Invitational (god dammit, the hyperlink button looks like a fucking pretzel, too. I’M […]

Leave a Reply

