Song 4 : Mr. Grumpy Pants

Posted: January 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well yes, I’m sorry I’m late. I’ve been very busy as of late, and also struggling with the cursed writers block, but thankfully late last night, that block was lifted (albeit probably temporarily) and I’m back writing at your face now.

In my last blog I said I was part way through writing this (well, last) weeks song, and I’ve got to be honest with you, I still am, but I’ve written another song, which would have been this weeks song, but I’m coming down with something, and last weeks song (which I’ve still not finished) is just a bit painful for me to sing with how I’m feeling right now, so that’s probably going to be left until I’m feeling a bit better, whilst I do some songs easier on the voice (and due to that, a little shorter than the previous few), but in my opinion, just as fun!

I’m actually quite pleased with this song, it’s inspired by a curmudgeonly, but lovable poster on The Ukulele Cosmos, and it’s only taken me an hour to write. It’s the sort of song you’d expect to feature in a web animation, or maybe a kids show. This ain’t no high art, but I think it’s fun to dabble with different styles. Last week I did a ska/gypsy/punk song, before that I did a couple of comedic (ish) songs, so the logical progression is onto a kids song. It’s really easy, two chords, and repetitive lyrics. I don’t really care that it’s so simple, as I like it, and I’m going to be humming it for a while now.

Here’s some lyrics. You can listen to the song in the Box.net widget on the left hand side of the blog.

“Mr. Grumpy Pants” – Ukulele Kris

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

He don’t laugh
He don’t smile
Well he’s an angry crocodile

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

Never ask him if
He wants to dance
Coz he’ll just bite your head off
And then start on your hands

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

He don’t laugh
And he don’t smile
Yeah he’s an angry crocodile

Mr Grumpy
Mr Grumpy
They call him Mr Grumpy Pants

I’m sure you will agree, that childish is the way forward.

Kris xx

Comments
  1. mr_ukester says:

    A triumph. Can you write another one based on some more of the Cosmos members?

  2. I’m trying to guess…who is ‘most grumpy’? Hahaha! Love it.

    Hey, I like the way the box.net widget works, but what’s with all the crap code it loads in under the widget window? I tried to look up an answer but nobody seem to know what causes it. Shitty programming, I suppose.

    Keep up the good work, sir.

    • krisball says:

      I have no idea how the metal mind works. The letters under the box, I fear if I do something to remove them the metal mind will turn on me, and have me removed. Must not upset the metal mind.

Leave a Reply

